Okay, I admit it: the blogosphere is blue

Since restarting this blog, the three posts which received the largest number of hits were when I referred to Genesis and Phil Collins, when I dared to criticise the anti-political classes, and yesterday, when I was criticised by Iain Dale and others for challenging his criticism of Labour for moving the writ for the Crew by-election.

Setting aside the prog rockers, it has to be admitted that criticism of Tory bloggers is the thing that most offends the blogosphere. Yes, there are some good Labour blogs, like Tom Watson’s or Luke Akehurst’s. But dare even to post a Labour-supporting comment on either Iain’s or Guido’s site and the resulting criticism is speedy and offensive.

Why are these people so offended by pro-Labour bloggers? (And by “these people” I generally mean those who comment in the two afore-mentioned blogs, although Guido does relish in his offensiveness as well.) Why are they so incapable of welcoming a balanced debate? Why does the red mist descend whenever the red flag is hoisted?

Are there those who want to drag us towards the utterly partisan and personal attacks that are such an intrinsic part of American politics, where one side despises the other and assumes that any disagreement with themselves means the other lot are unpatriotic, godless and plain stupid?

I’m off to speak on Labour’s behalf tonight at a Strathclyde Univesity Students Union debate on the motion, “This House would welcome the return of a Conservative government”. I will try to avoid using the right-wing bloggers’ tactics of demonising anyone who disagrees with me.

4 Comments

Filed under Blogging

4 responses to “Okay, I admit it: the blogosphere is blue

  1. Tom, I hope you don’t include me under the term “offensive”! I wholly welcome sensible debate.

  2. “Why are these people so offended by pro-Labour bloggers? (And by “these people” I generally mean those who comment in the two afore-mentioned blogs, although Guido does relish in his offensiveness as well.) Why are they so incapable of welcoming a balanced debate?”

    They’re probably in the indirect pay of CCHQ. Journalists, being lazy, start with the internet.

    And journalists have influence.

  3. Looks like after the efforts of people like me in the Labour Party, this House will shortly see the return of a Conservative Government.

  4. Iain – no, I didn’t mean you by “offensive”. Sorry if I offended you. Thought I made that clear in the post. Good grief, I’m really not much of a writer, am I?

Leave a Reply

