The best title in the world. Probably

Arriving at Edinburgh Castle this morning, I tried to remember when was the last time I was there. And then it struck me in all its horror: 1970, during my Primary One school trip!

Thirty-eight years on, I was there to lay a wreath at the Scottish National War Memorial, representing the Secretary of State for Scotland. On arrival I was greeted by Alastair Campbell. No, not that one. This was Alistair Campbell of Airds, whose official ceremonial title is Unicorn Pursuivant of Arms. How terrific is that?

I always find this kind of event very moving. And it’s a genuinely humbling experience to be with so many people whose numerous medals testify to their having seen active service in our armed forces.

Also, I will never, ever get tired of watching SNP ministers singing God Save The Queen.

Leave a comment

Filed under Parliament, SNP

Leave a Reply

