Days like this don’t come often enough

It doesn’t happen as often as I would like, but there are occasions when being a constituency MP is the most satisfying job in the world. Because the case involves a constituent, obviously I can’t divulge details. But basically, a mistake by a government agency left this honest, decent, hard-working bloke in very serious debt, through no fault of his own. I asked to meet the minister responsible and turned down the initial offer of a phone call with him; I wanted a face-to-face, which I then got.

Anyway, the meeting was nearly an hour ago now, and I got a result! Debt written off, one happy constituent. As Van Morrison so memorably said in 1995: “There’ll be days like these…”

1 Comment

Filed under Parliament

One response to “Days like this don’t come often enough

  1. I felt the same when I read Ruth’s speech to the environment conference.

    As Shelley wrote ‘Rarely, rarely comest thou, spirit of delight’

    As Shelley didn’t write ‘Make the most of it when it does come’

Leave a Reply

