To Millbank

To the infamous Millbank Tower tonight for the launch of the new Total Politics magazine. The launch was fun – lots of support for my views on “happiness” from MPs of all parties, which is very encouraging.

The last time I was here was in 1999 for my interview for Labour’s parliamentary candidates list (and we all know how that turned out…). I remember very well the reassurances I received in advance of the interview (“It’s very straightforward – the questions are easy”) and the actual first question I was asked: “How do you respond to critics who say the government has double standards in its respective policies towards Kosovo and East Timor?”

I was erudite and intelligent in my response which, I seem to remember, began with “Huh…?”

2 Comments

Filed under Labour, Media, Politics

2 responses to “To Millbank

  1. Bought a copy today – picture of the Big Grin on the cover, doesn’t bode well…

  2. Happy ex labour voter

    Of course MP’s are going to support your ‘miserable’ comments. The whole furore was because you and your MP buddies have lost touch with the people who elect you not with each other.

Leave a Reply

