The man with the golden opportunity

Attended the launch party of my Facebook friend Jonathan Isaby’s book, Boris v Ken, co-written by Giles Edwards. No sooner had I arrived in a very crowded upstairs room at a pub in Horseferry Road when who should walk in but…

“Britt Ekland!” I gasped excitedly to an SNP MP and a Scotland on Sunday reporter.

Britt Ekland! Star of one of my all-time favourite films, The Wicker Man, and, of course, the actress who played Mary Goodnight in The Man with the Golden Gun, opposite Roger Moore’s 007.

She looked exactly as I had last seen her in a documentary about her marriage to the late Peter Sellers: still very glamorous and gorgeous. Britt Ekland. I could hardly believe it.

“Do you want me to go and speak to her?” asked the rather too-eager nationalist.

“No, I want to,” I replied, leading the way through the crowd.

Britt Ekland! Fantastic. Once, just after being elected, I had passed Roger Moore at Heathrow’s Terminal One, and had ever since regretted not stopping to speak to him. I doubt if I’ll ever get another chance. But here, right in front of me, was a real life Bond girl, and I wasn’t going to miss this opportunity, oh no.

“Excuse me,” I ventured, straining to be heard over the noise of the crowd around me, desperately trying to create a good impression for this screen icon. “But are you Britt Ekland?”

She smiled. “No.”

Oh.

Britt Ekland: never met Tom Harris

2 Comments

Filed under Hinterland, Media

2 responses to “The man with the golden opportunity

  1. John

    A few thoughts on the matter:
    How refreshing to meet someone in your line of work that is NOT pretending to be something they are not.
    Perhaps it was Britt Ekland but she recognised you.
    Wasn’t Britt touring with the Grumpy Old Women last year? therefore portraying one of the ‘bloody miserable’ class. Not exactly your favourite kind of person at the moment.
    Lousy chatup line anyway.
    Another dissappointment for you. You’re really going to have to get used to them, judging by Labour’s continued poor poll ratings.

  2. Easy mistake to make if you believe the story that Britt insisted on a body double for the views of her, er, um, back in the nude dancing.

Leave a Reply

