I’m all for free speech, but…

I like to think I’m broad-shouldered enough to take any amount of reasonable criticism. Having said that, I did update my profile recently with advice on what sort of comments might not find their way to publication on this blog. Nevertheless, a couple of recent comments have had to go the way of spam due to their – how shall I put this? – intemperate language.

One delightful individual sent me a postcard in direct response to ‘Heaven knows we’re miserable now’. It advised: “Why can’t you be a good MP like Gwyneth Dunwoody, and die?”

Altogether now: “What the word needs now, is love, sweet love…”

1 Comment

Filed under Blogging, Politics, Society

One response to “I’m all for free speech, but…

  1. I don’t think there should be a comma in that sentence before the “and.” Correct me if I’m wrong.

    You should also refuse comments with bad punctuation, spelling and grammar, etc., but after eleven years of Labour-inspired education, you wouldn’t be able to post comments from anyone under 25.

    Considering the website I run, even I wouldn’t wish for your untimely death, especially a quick one!

    Only joking. I hope you grow old gracefully after a wonderful career of serving the country. I just don’t know what party you need to move to in order to achieve this.

Leave a Reply

