Operation GOTV

SHORTLY after starting this blog, I thought I should actually learn about what blogging was all about and what it was supposed to do. Yes, that’s right – after I started this blog.

I decided to buy Iain Dale’s Guide to Political Blogging in the UK 2007-8, which features more lists of blogs than you can shake a stick at, plus a number of useful and interesting articles by bloggers. A piece of wisdom that struck home only retrospectively was written by Nadine Dorries MP who, in an article entitled “Shotgun blogging” wrote presciently: “One can easily visualise the dramatic downfall scenario, brought about via an unguarded sentence blogged and posted late at night; it would manifest in the form of an off the cuff remark or a throw away comment, intended to humanise a paragraph.” Ha!

Anyway, the time has come to update the guide, and Iain is looking for your help in compiling a Top 100 blogs for inclusion. Send your ten nominations to Iain at toptenblogs@totalpolitics.com. Your favourite site will be awarded 10 points, your tenth placed site, one. Alternatively, you can submit your nominations via the comment section of Iain’s site.

The deadline for submitting your Top 10 is Friday August 15th. Please type Top 10 in the subject line. Once all the entries are in, a lucky dip draw will take place and the winner will be sent £100 worth of political books.

The rules are simple:

1. Please only vote once
2. Only blogs based in the UK, run by UK residents are eligible or based on UK politics are eligible
3. Votes must be cast before Friday 15 August
4. Blogs chosen must be listed in the Total Politics Blog Directory.
5. You must send a list of TEN blogs, ranked. Any entry containing fewer than ten blogs will not count.
6. Anonymous votes left in the comments will not count. You must give a name

5 Comments

Filed under Blogging

5 responses to “Operation GOTV

  1. wrinkled weasel

    I notice (blows own, very small trumpet) that Devil’s Kitchen and Cranmer are still carrying my comment of last year on their front pages..

    “For sheer intelligence, erudition and fun, Iain Dale’s Diary, Cranmer and Devil’s Kitchen are so far ahead of the rest I don’t see how they can figure in a top ten. They are the Beatles, Stones and Who of the blog world; the Astair, Bogart and Marlon Brando of the blog world; the Gerswin, Porter and Novello of the blog world; the Dot Cotton, Pat Butcher, Bette Lynch of the blog world…”

    The same applies really, except that I would add this:

    Seldom do you find a political blog, written by a serving MP (let alone a minister of state), that is as teasingly frank, as refreshing and as mildly scurrilous as that of Tom Harris. If he carries on like this we might have to revise our view of Politicians as humourless glove puppets.

  2. Good points, Wrinkled Weasel, but he doesn’t do economics very well and frequently follows the Labour spin slavishly. Did I mention that he’s Scottish? That last point alone puts him about 27th on my list.

  3. I’ll be posting my own Top Ten just before nominations close

  4. Are you sure it’s wise for a minister to be feeding Mr Dale’s obsessive list compilation disorder? I wish I’d studied psychology, I’m sure there must be a fascinating work to be written on the behaviours of, especially, right-of-centre-bloggers with their love of lists, “breaking” gossipy news and other odd stereotypical behaviours. Perhaps it’s sour grapes on my part after he ranked my splendid and now defunct blog in its heyday as only 98th or thereabouts on one of his many lists of political blogs. But he did once comment that I was the most annoying Labour troll on his own blog so I was pleased to have excelled at something even though it showed he hadn’t read my earlier comment about his not really knowing what troll meant.

    Lists are funny old things. Even though I know the methodology is a little suspect and the results indicative at best, I still like to check where our local schools figure in the league tables. Curiously enough it took my wife and me about 35 seconds from walking through its doors to figure out that the primary school our first child was to attend was a rattling good school. It’s a mystery why it took the then very sinister OFSTED so long to reach the same conclusion but I’m glad the school now qualifies for only the lightest and friendliest touch of inspection. Some things really have got better, lots have actually.

    Off now to work on my thesis about obsessive and excessive leaving of comments on other people’s blogs by ex bloggers. Perhaps I need to start with a list…

Leave a Reply

