I’m no Brad Pitt, but –

I DON’T, as a rule, blog about my work at the Department for Transport. That’s because the first rule of DfT is: don’t talk about the DfT; the second rule of DfT: don’t talk about the DfT.

Having said that, the only reason I was in London today was to take the Crossrail Bill through its final stages in Parliament. The Crossrail Bill is now The Crossrail Act. I’m dead chuffed. But I can’t talk about it.

Recess may have started, but I’ll still be working in Glasgow East tomorrow and Thursday.

7 Comments

Filed under Blogging, Department for Transport, Parliament, Whimsy

7 responses to “I’m no Brad Pitt, but –

  1. wrinkled weasel

    I am very happy for Londoners. I am sure they will appreciate it.

    Correct me if I am factually wrong, but Crossrail does not appear to have planned interchange with mainline termini going North. Furthermore, there already exists a tube link to Heathrow. I can see this will benefit some city workers, but is that it?

    I was sad to discover the other day that Nightstar, (for those that don’t know, an international though rail sleeper service from Glasgow to Paris and other destinations) got cancelled after millions of pounds had been spent on it, including the commissioning and building of carriages. For me, who luckily travelled on the last Wagons Lits Night Ferry out of London in 1980, it looked like a lost opportunity.

    Sorry if this sounds like a moan in the moment when you feel the hand of history is on your shoulder, but being the train fan that I am, I cannot help wondering if the rest of Europe has simply passed us by when it comes to joined up thinking about rail.

  2. Good for you, both for the Crossrail Act and managing to make the DfT sound, er, dangerous and sexy!

  3. Glad to hear that Crossrail should at last get built, well done to everyone involved (including you and our Ken of course) in at last driving it through to becoming an Act. I remember people working on outline plans for it when I was employed at the HQ of the British Railways Board and I left that august body 26 years ago…

  4. Johnny Norfolk

    Its good you are doing this. It will have to go a long way to make up for Dr Beeching under Wilson who closed down most of the local rail network. Another act of Labour folly, do you not now agree with the benifit of hindsight.

  5. What’s the point of it if it goes to Maidenhead, but not Reading. Reading Station has of the largest number of passanger changes in the country, majority of which switching to or from London. So why is Crossrail not heading here?

  6. I’ve actually agreed that the route from Maidenhead to Reading should be safeguarded in case the business case for Crossrail to be extended to Reading should improve in years to come.

    The reason the business case doesn’t stack up at the moment is that very few people would use Crossrail to get from Reading into London because Crossrail will essentially be a commuter “metro” service which, for most commuters, would take far too long to get from Reading to Paddington. The vast majority of commuters would choose, understandably, to use the high speed services into Paddington and then switch to Crossrail there.

    So much for not discussing Department for Transport matters, but I thought you might be interested in this.

  7. Thanks for the reply. I do hope the business case improves in the future as someone who commutes irregularly into London I think any extra capacity on the London to Reading line, through the Cross Rail extension or other means is essential, (especially for the festival in 4 weeks)

    I realise that this part of the route will have been fully considered, and I hope it gets built at some point.

Leave a Reply

