‘I’d like to thank the Academy…’

WHILE voting continues for Total Politics’ Top Political Blogs, it seems I’ve done unexpectedly well in another vote.

The results of the 2008 Witanagemot Club Political Blogging Awards have placed me second – just behind John Redwood – in the Best Blog by a Politician category and third in the Best Labour Party-supporting Blog category. I also scored well in the Best New Blog category, pipping Harriet Harman to second place.

Not that I care for such trifling baubles, of course. I seek not the adulation of the masses, merely the truths eternal… oh, who am I kidding? I’m a politician – of course I want votes…

7 Comments

Filed under Blogging, Politics

7 responses to “‘I’d like to thank the Academy…’

  1. Frank Davis

    Well done, Tom. You deserve it. You write a most readable blog, and you respond to the comments.

    Oddly enough I was looking at John Redwood’s Diary earlier today. All very heavy duty. The man seems to never stop thinking. He doesn’t seem to ever stop writing either. It’s a substantial essay a day, as far as I can make out. Reading his recent essay on the EU, he sounded like he was speaking for the Tory party and David Cameron, and perhaps the country and Western Civilisation.

    I somehow get the feeling he doesn’t watch much Dr Who..

  2. I notice you tucked a reference to “pipping Harriet Harman to second place” on the end of your post.

    Should David Milliband be getting nervous as well?

  3. Consuela Bananahammock

    Well Harrret Harman’s blog hasn’t been updated for a while, and it is a bit “for public consumption” – very little about what she thinks. I bookmarked it, but I won’t be back unless she does something spectacular (if you know what I mean!).

    I think yours is much better. It would be better still if you would permanently disable those horrible “snap shot” things!!!

  4. Consuela – Can’t stand the snap shots either but I think you have to disable it on your own computer. Right-click when a pop-up appears then use the options at the top right hand corner. I think

  5. Consuela Bananahammock

    Thanks Tom. I do this regularly because I regularly read your blog and that of Rupa Huq, which is similarly afflicted, but that never lasts. Hopi Sen, who I also read frequently, seems to have stopped it on his WordPress blog.

    I did a google search and found this – http://rot1blg.wordpress.com/2008/06/05/how-to-disable-snap-shots-from-your-blog-wordpress/ – I don’t know if it works, though.

    Anyaway, thanks for keeping this excellent blog going.

  6. Consuela – Thanks for this. I’ve now followed the instructions and switched off snapshots, but only because you’re being so nice about the blog. Thanks.

  7. Consuela Bananahammock

    It’s nice to be nice, Tom!

Leave a Reply

