Tell me more, tell me more…

EVERYONE’S doing their “Top Ten” this and “Top Ten” that, so here’s a list I’ve been meaning to do for a while, and I’m inspired to write it today since it’s finally warm and sunny and – dare I say it? – summery.

So here are my all-time top ten summer songs – not necessarily songs that were hits during summers past (or even hits at all, come to think of it), but simply songs that, when I listen to them now, always remind me of beautiful, hot summer days and evenings. And no, John Travolta and Olivia Newton-John aren’t included.

1. Mr Blue Sky – ELO
2. Waterloo Sunset – The Kinks
3. Wake Up Boo! – The Boo Radleys
4. Nightingales – Prefab Sprout
5. Hold On – Wilson Phillips
6. Heat of the Moment – Asia
7. Selfish Days – Five Guys Named Moe (the band, not the musical)
8. Keep on Lovin’ You – REO Speedwagon
9. Crash – The Primitives
10. Dance Away – Roxy Music

Your own comments and suggestions always welcome.

12 Comments

Filed under Blogging, Hinterland, Whimsy

12 responses to “Tell me more, tell me more…

  1. Billie Piper’s timeless classic “Because We Want To” has to rank on everybody’s top ten, shurely?

    I jest, I jest.

  2. Now, Sadie – answer truthfully: do you still have a copy of that single? And do you still listen to it occasionally?

  3. Is the No.9 song title your basic appraisal of the Glasgow East result?

    Have the Nos. 6 and 7 titles anything to do with recent news involving David Miliband?

    What about Nos. 3 and 5? Advice for Gordon, perhaps? Or should he just “dance away” into the “Waterloo sunset”?

    Is there a dearth of No.1 thinking in Labour these days?

    Sorry, facetious drivel – I know. Just couldn’t resist. 😉

  4. Liz

    Don Henley’s “Boys of Summer” always works for me…

  5. I spose you’re too young to remember “Those Lazy, Hazy, Crazy Days Of Summer” by Nat King Cole, probably about the third 45rpm single I purchased – listen to it on U tube and update your list forthwith please…

    And what of “Summer in the City” by The Lovin’ Spoonful or “Dancing in the Street” by Martha Reeves and the Vandellas? Showing me age again I spect…

  6. John

    What no ‘ Things can only get better’ Tom. I’d have thought it would rank No.1 in your chart.
    By the way, did you see that we voted you second in the Witanagemot ‘Best Political Blog by a politician’ (second only to John Redwood) with Nadine 3rd.

  7. John

    Oh and second in the ‘Best new blog’ just beating Harriet. (but we’d all like to beat her)

  8. Mrs Blogs

    Pulp’s ‘Sunrise’ is a joy to behold….

    Its got an onomatopoeic quality to it -the arrangement and sound of the instruments and the song’s build up is just exactly like the sun bursting over the horizon, its the musical equivalent of painterly. A true masterpiece.

    check it out at youtube or somewhere.

    Also what about Mungo Jerry In the summertime, or is that too obvious?

  9. Johnny Norfolk

    Do people only listen to pop. Surely there must be some room for classical. Do you have a favorite.?
    Mine is Beethovens 5th. and I love everthing by J S Bach.

  10. Vaughan Williams and Prokoviev – but they don’t remind me of summer.

  11. Mrs Blogs

    New World Symphony Dvorak is quite pleasant.

Leave a Reply

