Toning up

SINCE I got my new phone, I’ve been personalising it by creating ringtones for specific individuals’ incoming calls.

My default ringtone is “This Old Heart of Mine” by The Isley Brothers, because it’s the best pop song ever produced. And when Carolyn calls me, the ringtone is “Teenage Kicks” by The Undertones, which she reckons is the best pop song ever produced.

When my teenage son calls, it’s “Chemical World” by Blur, because he’s following his father’s example of only discovering bands a decade after they were hip. And when Donald, who works for me, calls, it’s “Firth of Fifth” or “Harold the Barrel” by Genesis, because he shares my appreciation of the best band Britain has ever produced.

And before anyone points it out – yes, I know I have too much time on my hands.

6 Comments

Filed under Family life, Genesis, Politics, Whimsy

6 responses to “Toning up

  1. richard

    Get back to work.

  2. John

    And prey tell us which one you have choosen for GB’s call….”Hello, is it me you’re looking for.”……
    or ” Time to say Goodbye ” when he reshuffles

  3. “Movin’ on up” should be the No.10 ringtone.

  4. You wanna watch out with pop ringtones. You get all twitchy when the song’s on the radio. Or even worse, if you’re me, you drunkenly decide to search the entire nightclub for your phone when the Ting Tings come on…
    I might have to stick to something that sounds like R2D2.

  5. Johnny Norfolk

    Pleased you have the time to do this. Most of us do not.

  6. richard

    Tom’s boss is on the way out so I’d imagine there is something of a holiday atmosphere..

Leave a Reply

