Dear Sir/Madam/Mug

I SEEM to be receiving more of these than usual. Do the perpetrators reckon that the credit crunch means people are more vulnerable/gullible than usual?

Dear Valued Customer,

We are necessitating a verification process on your account (Business/Personal), as an added measure to ensuring adequate security on your access online. Log on your access to complete the verification process and ensure you fill in the required information. 

Accounts Management Dept.,

Lloyds TSB Bank plc. 

* Readers Digest most trusted brand survey 2001 – 2008.

Recently I received an email, ostensibly from Customs and Revenue, telling me I was entitled to an £800 tax rebate. All I was asked to do was visit their site (link helpfully provided) and provide some personal details, including my “zip code”…

No way I’m getting my fingers burned again – not after that last time. Still can’t believe that the son of Nigeria’s former defence minister would behave that way.

10 Comments

Filed under Economy, Whimsy

10 responses to “Dear Sir/Madam/Mug

  1. Jim Callaghan

    “We used to think that you could spend your way out of a recession and increase employment by cutting taxes and boosting government spending. I tell you in all candour that that option no longer exists, and in so far as it ever did exist, it only worked on each occasion since the war by injecting a bigger dose of inflation into the economy, followed by a higher level of unemployment as the next step.”

    Jim Callaghan, Labour Party Annual Conference Report 1976, page 188.

  2. Dumb Brummie

    We’re simple folk here in the Midlands, so can any of you sophisticated metropolitans answer me a couple of questions?

    1. The current crisis was caused by people, governments and businesses spending money they had to borrow. The government’s solution is to spend money they have to borrow. Why is the cure the same as the disease?

    2. Another factor was poorly secured or unsecured loans (sub-prime lending). If banks are to be forbidden from foreclosing defaulted mortgages, doesn’t that make those loans unsecured? Same question as before really.

    There must be some sort of demented logic behind it, but I just can’t see it. Perhaps it’s because I’m a thick Brummy.

  3. I sent my B&B bank details to the widow of the Chief Cashier of the Nigerian Central Bank the other day.

    She sent me an e-mail back, asking if this was some kind of scam.

  4. Andrew Jackson

    I am one of those who do not believe that a national debt is a national blessing, but rather a curse to a republic; inasmuch as it is calculated to raise around the administration a moneyed aristocracy dangerous to the liberties of the country.

    Andrew Jackson

    Andrew Jackson (March 15, 1767 – June 8, 1845) was the seventh President of the United States (1829–1837), and a lot smarter than our De Facto President.

  5. Do you remember the Roger Cook programmes? I campaigned (well I wrote a letter) to have them stopped because they seemed to me to be more likely to encourage people to start scams rather than to help prevent people becoming victims. Regrettably they seemed to prove that, in a population of over 50m people, there’s a good chance you can unearth a few thousand mugs just waiting to be parted from their cash without too much trouble…

    PS try googlemail, they seem to be rather good at filtering this sort of stuff out.

  6. Civil Serpent

    You think that’s bad Tom.

    There are e-mails going round claiming to be from Harriet Harperson, or Jack Straw in much the same vein. A small blessing you are no longer a Minister, or you could have been a similar victim.

  7. John

    I take it you could not provide a ‘zip code’ as there are no flies on you? 🙂

  8. dreamingspire

    Spam and scam email volumes do seem to go up and down, and I have noticed volumes rise in the autumn (lots of offers of watches and shoes and handbags received here recently). But there are also dips at apparently random times – and then we hear that a network of scammers has been broken up. The same happens in other areas: last week we heard that a network trading stolen credit card details was broken up, so we should see a drop in credit card crime for a while. My own bank has been very active in reducing the phishing, but have lost the plot at the moment: about 5 a day attacking their account holders have been arriving here to my business email domain.

  9. Was it the reference to the “Kray twins”, Tom?

    Have you had a sense of humour by-pass? (I know the charisma implant hasn’t worked – sorry about that.)

    But why “moderate” my comment on this thread? It wasn’t offensive, was it? I hope not.

    So, am I banned from commenting on your blog? I’d like to know.

  10. Diablo – you’re entitled to an explanation, of course. Your comments were not at all offensive, but Carolyn and I have decided not to allow comments or jokes that involve the boys. Over-protective parents, you might conclude, but there we are.

Leave a Reply

