Top quality viewing

QUITE an emotional instalment of The X-Factor last night (Carolyn and I just finished watching it on Sky+). Thought Daniel and Scott deserved to be in the bottom two, but felt sad for Scott when he had to leave – he clearly hadn’t prepared himself emotionally for the event.

It’s such a strong line-up of finalists this year – Diana is breath-taking, though I still think it’s Austin’s to lose – but I’d be happier if Eoghan and Rachel were next to leave.

And no, I don’t care if you’re not interested.

12 Comments

Filed under Family life, Hinterland, TV

12 responses to “Top quality viewing

  1. Nigel Harris

    Blimey, I can’t believe this conversation is going on. It’s almost as surreal as the one I had in the enginemen’s messroom at the GCR, a couple of weeks ago, where a quartet of beefy drivers and firemen, grubby and filling their billycans, were seriously discussing the various performances on Strictly Come Dancing in between discussions about injectors and dampers. And now this! What the hell, like you, I don’t care, Tom. I pretty much agree about XF although I thought Scott’s was by far the best sing-off, and that the judges let their hearts rule their heads and were swayed by emotion and not singing talent. Daniel is a nice guy, it seems, but Scott is the better vocalist. Agree about Diana – quirky, or what? Vocally, a strange mix of Cerys Matthews and Marilyn Monroe, with a soupcon of Janis Joplin thrown in. Laura is too much of an Amy Winegum impressionist for me …but Alexandra is sensational. it’s between her and Austin, who is, frankly, amazing. Now, pass the popcorn…….

  2. Aargh. I haven’t got as far as my Sky + yet and now I know the result……………

    Oh well……..

  3. Will S

    I wonder if all the people who got to this blog for the X-factor review could post below please.

  4. John

    I’m not remotely intereste…. oh 😦

    I can’t believe you’re a fan of a reality TV show Tom 😦

    Standards! MP’s are supposed to have standar… oh 😦 😛

  5. “…And no, I don’t care if you’re not interested.”

    Quite right, young Tom! It’s your blog and you’ll write what you want to!

    Why am I bothering to comment? I don’t even know what the X Factor is…… oh, god, I’ve been sucked into your parallel universe! Woe is me!

  6. Johnny Norfolk

    Glad you enjoyed it Tom.
    It sounds like it suits you. Just your sort of thing.

    From what I have seen, it looks tacky, and toe curling.

  7. Andy

    Good grief. I thought you were of a greater intellect than those who watch this mindless drivel .. clearly not. And if the House is made up of people who would watch this rather than thinking clearly about how to get out of the mess the country’s in then, as Private Fraser had it, “we’re doomed”

  8. Great result for Liverpool at the weekend.

  9. Rapunzel

    “Good grief. I thought you were of a greater intellect than those who watch this mindless drivel .. clearly not. And if the House is made up of people who would watch this rather than thinking clearly about how to get out of the mess the country’s in then, as Private Fraser had it, “we’re doomed””

    So, young Tom, kindly spend next Saturday evening perusing the multiple problems facing the country, and come up with a viable solution by 9.00 am on Monday!

    Not personally an X-Factor viewer, but devoted to “Strictly.” Have never really thought of myself as “mindless”, but am currently feeling a certain sense of relief each Friday as the Stock market finally closes and we can relax until further bad news each Monday. Weekends also mean that T.V and Radio news report other things than endless gloom and doom. Thank God for torrential rain in Cumbria, (nobody died, most participants didn’t know what all the fuss was about), followed by “Strictly” results show.

    Always thought John Sergeant was a clever and astute political broadcaster. He’s also witty and self-deprecating. Can’t dance for toffee, but a win for him and his partner would cheer us all up no end! Wonder if Mrs Thatcher watches?

  10. Paul

    Eoghan to leave?! The judges are going to ensure that he makes it to the final three or four!

  11. Ah, but it’s not up to the judges, is it? It’s a public vote. And I though Eoghan’s performance this week was rotten – couldn’t understand the judges’ comments

  12. Paul

    True. If he was ever in the bottom two, i’d be surprised if the judges voted him off, though!

Leave a Reply

