Early night

I INTEND to resist the temptation to stay up until the result at Glenrothes is announced. One late night a week is more than enough for someone of my advanced years and on Wednesday morning I didn’t get to bed until McCain’s concession speech – about 5.00 am.

I genuinely have no idea who’s going to win at Glenrothes. It will be a significant result, either way. But I’ll hear all about it in the morning, no doubt.

It’s funny how, ever since I’ve been a member of the Labour Party – 24 years now – I’ve taken every by-election result to heart, as if each result is a personal reflection on me. Undoubtedly a sign of rampant egoism (or is it egotism?). But I guess it’s a common complain of anyone who is truly committed to their party. Politics is personal.

6 Comments

Filed under Labour, Politics, SNP

6 responses to “Early night

  1. You must share the same outlook at P Diddy. The rapper formally known as Sean ‘Puff Daddy’ Combs is quoted in The Guardian today saying: “I felt like my vote was the vote that put him into office. It was down to one vote, and that was going to be my vote. And that may not be true but that’s how much power it felt like I had.”

  2. Will S

    Grats on the good result. I was rooting for ya. 😛

  3. anita

    The betting was against a Labour win. This would have allowed a staunch Labour supporter, yourself obviously, to pay-off his mortgage.
    Happy to have been of service.

  4. Nick the Greek

    Very sad to say it but that was a good result for Labour. Life under Labour is rubbish, but where is the opposition? Once they lose (because they absolutely deserve to) the country is going to be run by the vacuous Bullingdon boys, I think I’m going to have to stay in Germany, at least I haven’t a clue about whats going on here, except local sales tax is 19%.

  5. John

    Sooooooooooo, it seems young Tom that I had more faith in Labour winning this by election than you did.
    I was the only one of your commentors to predict a good Labour win (well, given the current state of affairs, it amounted to a landslide).
    I take it there was no competition prize and you won’t be writing out a cheque 🙂

    I await Gordon’s decision to call a GE in the new year.

  6. Johnny Norfolk

    Well done Tom.
    It was that hat that won it.

    I hope the result brings an early general election for England.

Leave a Reply

