Running whip

THERE are two kinds of MP: those who, when their visit to the gym is interrupted by the sound of the division bell, bounce self-confidently into the voting lobby, enjoying the double-takes and jokes about their attire and their sweaty countenance.

And then there are those who dread having to vote in their running shoes and shorts, who feel naked and vulnerable without the comfort of their suit.

On account of my legs, I fall into the second category. So I was not best pleased earlier this afternoon when, after a mere 15 minutes on the treadmill, a vote was called. Cue much jeering and finger-pointing (and that was just the police). Kerry McCarthy even threatened to take a photo with her phone to post on her blog. I do, genuinely hope she was kidding.

Believe me, so do you.

11 Comments

Filed under Blogging, Hinterland, Parliament

11 responses to “Running whip

  1. Andy

    Tom, I hate the politics of your party, but I love your sense of humour! Such self-deprecation is to be admired.

  2. madasafish

    Tom
    If you were as good at politics as you are at humour..

    you’d be PM… (and more successful as well)

  3. Kerry

    He’s just being honest!

  4. Jay

    What japes you MPs get up to! I worked for twelve hours today and didn’t earn a penny. Not only do I not have time to go to the gym, I don’t have time to do essential things (and before you ask how I’ve got time to post – I’m a slattern) It’s called working in the private sector where, unlike in the public sector, you don’t get paid for turning up.

    I don’t understand the subtleties (are there any) of Darling’s PBR) but I do know that huge savings could be made by cutting the public sector. Bring back the 80s, I say.

  5. Rapunzel

    If there is a photo, maybe you could auction it on your blog, and put the no doubt considerable amount of money raised towards the national debt? Should make quite a dent!

    I’m prepared to bid £5.00 plus 17.5% VAT.

    Sorry, I’ll wait until Monday and make that 15.00%.

    Any advance?

  6. You only have to look at any newspaper to bust out laughing at the site of any MP.

  7. Do most newspapers carry pictures of MPs’ sites?

  8. “MP’s sites” Tom? Is that code. I think Laurence just means MPs are risible however attired.

  9. labourboy

    Boom boom!

  10. Goodness me.

    Subsidised bars, smoking rooms, restuarants and Gyms.

    No wonder you lot are so well connected to the voting public

  11. Beness

    “THERE are two kinds of MP: those who, when their visit to the gym is interrupted by the sound of the division bell, bounce self-confidently into the voting lobby, enjoying the double-takes and jokes about their attire and their sweaty countenance.

    And then there are those who dread having to vote in their running shoes and shorts, who feel naked and vulnerable without the comfort of their suit.”

    If that’s the only kind of MP’s I vote for the third way.

Leave a Reply

