Merry Christmas (and God bless us, everyone!)

THIS year I thought I was ahead of the game; most of my prezzies were bought (over the internet) by the end of November, and all I had to do was relax and enjoy the run-up to Christmas.

But when you’re the father of three boys, and when your wife just happens to be the Queen of Christmas, life isn’t that simple. Last-minute shopping, hanging the Christmas cards, emergency trips to the supermarket, wrapping – LOTS of wrapping… In other words, chaos.

But I wouldn’t have it any other way. I love Christmas, and I hope I’ve conveyed as much in the last few weeks. I love the chaos and the panic. I love the boys getting excited and hyper (and that’s before the chocolate frenzy kicks in). I love the fact that Carolyn takes her role as Christmas supervisor so seriously and always – always –  makes Christmas so perfect in our home every year.

And maybe it’s just my imagination, or my optimism, but I love the way people seem to be nicer to each other at this time of year.

So I just want to wish every reader of this blog a very merry Christmas and a happy and prosperous New Year. And can I offer a particular thanks to everyone who has made the effort to leave a comment (yes – even the rude ones).

PS: The pic is one of mine. Nice, eh?

christmas-tree1

11 Comments

Filed under Blogging

11 responses to “Merry Christmas (and God bless us, everyone!)

  1. Paul Williams

    Merry Christmas to you as well Tom, thankfully I’m a ‘bah humbug’ kinda chap and I don’t have children so all this chaos and argy-bargy in the shops mostly passes me by. Feet up, cold beer and watching a film – that’s me done, well until I have to see the family tomorrow and wait for the arguments to begin 😉

  2. Merry Christmas to you and your family too, Tom.

  3. John

    Merry Christmas and a Happy and Prosperous New Year to you and the family too Tom!

    (And may the alcohol up in Scotland flow as freely as it has been here in South Wales 😉 )

  4. ani

    Tom, do I take it there’ll be no blogging over the holiday then? :0(
    HaHa – only joking.

    A Very Happy Christmas to you and your family.

    (PS. The caption competition is a right laugh, have you considered doing one on a regular basis?)

  5. Andrew F

    Merry Secularmas, Tom! Enjoy it.

  6. Rory

    Merry Christmas to you too.

    Enjoy the new year also (well, up until the Euro elections at least!).

  7. You just couldn’t resist it, could you?

  8. Chris' Wills

    A bit t6rady of me, but I hope you and yours have a wonderful Christmas.

  9. Loving the new pollwatch. Lib Dems up four, eh? Are you sure you didn’t mean that one for April 1st?

    Merry Christmas to you.

  10. Yep – even a miserable old git like me still enjoys Christmas and I am glad you do too, Tom. Good on yer!

    But I should point out that your poll showing Santa with a commanding lead is just a one-day wonder.

    However, the LibDems seem to be making a bit of a comeback (up 4 points) and could be the ones to watch in the New Year.

    Now, I really must go and drink Santa’s glass of sherry, scoff his mince pie and nibble the reindeers’ carrot. If I don’t Mrs Diablo will be very disappointed in the morning. (Our 11-year old wonders why I still carry out this strange ritual but what does he know – he’s just a kid!)

  11. Marcus_UEA

    Merry christmas to you too, Tom. Was just wondering what your thoughts were on this Campagin/Video:

    http://uk.youtube.com/watch?v=UTxQ7xy7Ji4

Leave a Reply

