Oh Nuneaton!

THERE’S a classic scene in a classic episode of The Simpsons – “Marge versus the Monorail” since you ask – where the con artist who makes money from selling dud schemes to gullible townships is on a plane that makes an unscheduled stop at a town that was ruined because of him. The natives recognise him and storm the plane to lynch him.

Why am I reminded of this, you ask? Well, I’m on a Virgin West Coast service southwards, and, remembering the beautiful sentiment expressed by a resident of Nuneaton when I was sacked as rail minister, Carolyn asked me if we were going to stop there. Fortunately not.

But then, if we did stop, I wouldn’t be in danger of a lynching, would I?

6 Comments

Filed under Department for Transport, Whimsy

6 responses to “Oh Nuneaton!

  1. That depends… are you carrying a briefcase full of cash?

    “Nuneaton… where have I heard that before? Oh no… Oh no!”

  2. wrinkled weasel

    They can’t lynch you. You’re one of the good guys. Well, anyway, it would be a shame. Better get your famous last words ready.

  3. Johnny Norfolk

    I think I am the only person in the world that has never watched The Simpsons, or worn denim jeans.

  4. pr roger j clementine iii cbe

    Johnny Norfolk

    YOU HAVE NEVER LIVED!

    The way that the denim feels against the skin of one’s legs is to DIE FOR.

    And, yes, I am of the belief that the capital lettering was FULLY justified.

  5. pr roger j clementine iii cbe

    I am wearing a fez.

    Unless this oh so politically correct nanny state government outlaws this so called crime as well!!!

  6. pr roger j clementine iii cbe, I think a fair whack of this “oh so politically correct nanny state government” only exists in the minds of Daily Mail hacks to get Middle England tutting in disgust.

    But the fez is fine.

Leave a Reply

